2024 NATIONAL MEDAL
for Museum and Library Service Finalist

The library will be closed on Sundays in August. All book and media drops will also be closed on Sundays in August. Overdue fines will not be charged for days the library is closed.

THE LIBRARY IS CURRENTLY NOT ACCEPTING BOOK DONATIONS. PLEASE CHECK BACK AT A LATER DATE.

The Black Flamingo

Dean Atta
Audience: 
Book Rating: 
0
No votes yet

About This Book

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he’s navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican—but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael’s coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs—and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are—and allow us to shine. 

You might like these books

Alisha Emrich
Karen M. McManus
Daniel Aleman
Melissa De La Cruz
Anna Sortino