The library building may be closed, but the virtual library is open.

Our librarians are available to answer your questions by telephone, email or chat Monday, Wednesday, Friday from 10am - 6pm, Tuesday, Thursday 12pm - 8pm, Saturday 10am - 4pm, and Sundays 12pm - 4pm. Click here for more information or call 732-390-6767.

Curbside Pickup is available 7 days a week. 

Please return library materials at our outdoor book drops which are open 7 days a week. Returned items are quarantined for 7 days and will remain checked out to your library card until the quarantine period is complete. Please call 732-390-6888 for instructions on returning lendable kits.

 

Goddess in the Machine

Lora Beth Johnson
Audience: 
Subject: 
Book Rating: 
4.5
Average: 4.5 (2 votes)

About This Book

When Andra wakes up, she's drowning.

Not only that, but she's in a hot, dirty cave, it's the year 3102, and everyone keeps calling her Goddess. When Andra went into a cryonic sleep for a trip across the galaxy, she expected to wake up in a hundred years, not a thousand. Worst of all, the rest of the colonists—including her family and friends—are dead. They died centuries ago, and for some reason, their descendants think Andra's a deity. She knows she's nothing special, but she'll play along if it means she can figure out why she was left in stasis and how to get back to Earth.

Zhade, the exiled bastard prince of Eerensed, has other plans. Four years ago, the sleeping Goddess's glass coffin disappeared from the palace, and Zhade devoted himself to finding it. Now he's hoping the Goddess will be the key to taking his rightful place on the throne—if he can get her to play her part, that is. Because if his people realize she doesn't actually have the power to save their dying planet, they'll kill her.

With a vicious monarch on the throne and a city tearing apart at the seams, Zhade and Andra might never be able to unlock the mystery of her fate, let alone find a way to unseat the king, especially since Zhade hasn't exactly been forthcoming with Andra. And a thousand years from home, is there any way of knowing that Earth is better than the planet she's woken to?

Reviews

Sofia S.

4

Deus ex Machina

You wake up and you are drowning. You have no idea where you are, until you realize it's been a hundred years since you went into stasis and are now a colonist on a new planet....Or so you thought. It has been a century since you took your last breath, and you are now a Goddess.

In this engaging Sci-Fi, Johnsosn introduces a unique cast of characters with truly human-like responses. It is very easy to sympathise with Andra as Zhade guides her in a world full of dangerous technology and political intrigue. As if losing everyone she knows is not enough, Andra must fight her insecurities to be the Third Goddess she is believed to be, or suffer the fate of the ones who came before her.

A thousand years in the future, Andra finds herself in a society where English has morphed into a new language. Johnson, however, writes in a slang that is simultaneously easy to understand and completely different. Overall, the writing is captivating and addictive. The chapters also have actual titles, (yay!) which enhances the overall experience. It is important to note that the relationship between Andra and Zhade is predictable and can be classified as “insta-love". Another not-so-strong point of Goddess in The Machine is the middle portion of the book. After the first hundred pages, the book is not nearly as unique as the story was in the beginning, but the action-packed ending is worth it.

With plot twist after plot twist, this book is perfect for fans of Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman. But don’t worry! This book is different from the Aurora Cycle Series. Goddess in The Machine is a completely new addition to the genre!

Anonymous

5

Goddess in the Machine Review

This book is an amazing book set in a Scifi universe. In this book, the main character, Andra, has been set in a cryogenic sleep for over 1000 years, while everyone else she has known on her colonist ship has died. When she wakes up in an alien planet, she is hailed as a goddess. In addition, everyone on her new planet speaks in a foreign dialect, which adds to the mystery. While she is figuring out how to get back to Earth, she encounters Zhade, who is an exiled prince. They agree to work together and help return Zhade to his rightful throne. This book is very interesting and set in quite literally, a different world. This is a must read for any scifi fan, due to its strong main characters and interesting worldbuilding.

Find Us on Our Social Media Platforms

 
@ebplibraryteens
 
YouTube

You might like these books

Arc of a Scythe
Suzanne Collins
Veronica Roth
Andrew Smith
Gibby Haynes