A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

Holly Jackson
Audience: 
Subject: 
Book Rating: 
5
Average: 5 (1 vote)

About This Book

For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn't add up, and a girl who's determined to find the real killer--but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

Pretty and popular high school senior Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anyone could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees how the tragedy still haunts her town.

But she can't shake the feeling that there was more to what happened that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so kind to her. How could he possibly have been a killer?

Now a senior herself, Pip decides to reexamine the closed case for her final project, at first just to cast doubt on the original investigation. But soon she discovers a trail of dark secrets that might actually prove Sal innocent . . . and the line between past and present begins to blur. Someone in Fairview doesn't want Pip digging around for answers, and now her own life might be in danger.

This is the story of an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you'll never expect. 

Reviews

Dhihita N.

5

A miraculous mystery!

This book was overall very compelling and is a wonderful murder/mystery novel. Pip is the main character and she wishes to reexamine the closed case of Sal Singh and the treacherous events which led to his death and the death of his girlfriend Andie Bell. Pip makes it her full responsibility to try proving that Sal did not commit the crime of murdering her. As Pip continues to dig, use false identities and liaise with the suspected killers' brother, she finds out that Sal's life was darker and more complex than she thought. Something in particular that I liked about the novel was the structure of it. There are many portions in the book which are written like pages of her report/transcript, sometimes as interview transcripts or notes that she writes while interviewing and gathering viable information from others. Additionally, there is a lot of humor which is brought into the book through characters and events. Overall this is a wonderful mystery story which I 10/10 recommend!

You might like these books

Sara Faring
Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Eileen Cook
Cindy Anstey
Kate A. Boorman
Caleb Roehrig