The library building may be closed, but the virtual library is open.

Our librarians are available to answer your questions by telephone, email or chat Monday, Wednesday, Friday from 10am - 6pm, Tuesday, Thursday 12pm - 8pm, Saturday 10am - 4pm, and Sundays 12pm - 4pm. Click here for more information or call 732-390-6767.

Curbside Pickup is available 7 days a week. 

Please return library materials at our outdoor book drops which are open 7 days a week. Returned items are quarantined for 7 days and will remain checked out to your library card until the quarantine period is complete. Please call 732-390-6888 for instructions on returning lendable kits.

 

Almost American Girl

Robin Ha
Audience: 
Book Rating: 
5
Average: 5 (2 votes)

About This Book

A powerful and timely teen graphic novel memoir—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo—about a Korean-born, non-English-speaking girl who is abruptly transplanted from Seoul to Huntsville, Alabama, and struggles with extreme culture shock and isolation, until she discovers her passion for comic arts.

For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up in the 1990s as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation—following her mother’s announcement that she’s getting married—Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn’t understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends at home and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn’t fit in with her new stepfamily. And worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to—her mother.

Then one day Robin’s mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.

Reviews

Meghana S.

5

Almost American Girl Review

This book Almost American Girl by: Robin Ha is about a girl named Robin Ha that lived all her life in Korea but then suddenly had to move to Alabama and live with her new family with her new dad that her mom remarried. Robin’s opinion on others changed as she interacted with them and learned new cultural topics. I usually don’t read comics but the title relates to a lot of people in the U.S. Since some people are immigrants or have mixed cultures, this book relates to all of that. The plot twist is very interesting and it didn’t take long to finish this book either. The relationship between Robin and her mom is very relatable between mothers and daughters. It was even more interesting when the epilogue said that the author went through a similar story. I liked the character development and how anyone can relate their own experiences to this story. I give this book a rating of 5/5.

Find Us on Our Social Media Platforms

 
@ebplibraryteens
 
YouTube