East Brunswick Public Library to Undergo Construction Project. Read More

Book Holiday Gift Guide 2021

picture of woman wrapping book in brown paper

Need a last-minute gift for a book lover in your life? Check out this Holiday Gift Guide, full of great recommendations for readers of all interests!

Purchasing online? Consider supporting local independent bookstores through shops like Bookshop.org.

 

A Line to Kill by Anthony Horowitz

A Line to Kill is a triumph-a riddle of a story full of brilliant misdirection and beautifully set-out clues, making for an expertly crafted whodunit.

 

Of Women and Salt by Gabriela Garcia

A sweeping debut about a daughter's fateful choice, a mother motivated by her own past, and a family legacy that begins in Cuba before either of them were born.

 

One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston

Casey McQuiston's One Last Stop is a magical romance where the impossible becomes possible as August does everything fn her power to save the girl lost in time.

 

Under a White Sky by Elizabeth Kolbert

The Pulitzer Prizewinning author returns to humanity's impact on the environment, now asking: After doing so much damage, can we change nature, this time to save it?

 

Good Company by Cynthia D' Aprix Sweeney

The author of The Nest tells a bighearted story of the enduring bonds of marriage and friendship, the lifelong bonds that shape who we fundamentally are.

 

Harlem Shuffle by Colson Whitehead

A gloriously entertaining novel of heists, shakedowns, and rip-offs that touches on the themes of race and power. Guaranteed to transport you to Harlem in the 1960s.

 

Klara and the Sun by Kazuo lshiguro

This is a thrilling book that offers a look at our changing world through the eyes of an unforgettable narrator, and what it means to love?

 

Broken by Jenny Lawson

From the New York Times best-selling author of Furiously Happy and Let's Pretend This Never Happened comes a deeply refatable filled with humor and honesty about depression and anxiety.

 

Interior Chinatown by Charles Yu

A deeply personal and funny novel, Interior Chinatown tackles everything from race, pop culture, immigration, assimilation, and escaping the roles we are forced to play.

 

In Five Years by Rebecca Serie

A powerful and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

 

Before She Was Helen by Caroline B. Cooney

A deceptively dark mystery set in a retirement community that flips expectations upside-down and reveals long-hidden secrets.

 

People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry

From the New York Times bestselling author of Beach Read comes a sparkling new novel about a fractured relationship that will leave you with the warm, hazy afterglow usually reserved for the best vacations.

 

The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

 

The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave

A gripping mystery about a woman who thinks she's found the love of her life--until he disappears. Try to keep up with its breakneck pacing and dizzying plot twists.

 

Libertie by Kaitlyn Greenidge

Inspired by the life of one of the first Black female doctors in the United States, Kaitlyn Greenidge's new and immersive novel will resonate with readers eager to understand our present through a lyrical dive into our past.

 

Think Again by Adam Grant

The bestselling author of Originals examines the critical art of rethinking: learning to question your opinions and open other people's minds, which can position you for excellence at work and wisdom in life.

 

Filthy Animals by Brandon Taylor

Psychologicallly taut and quietly devastating, Filthy Animals is a tender portrait of the fierce longing for Intimacy, the lingering presence of pain, and the desire for love in a world that seems, more often than not, to withhold it.

 

Our Country Friends by Gary Shteyngart

Eight friends, one country house, and six months in isolation. A perfect novel for these times and all times, an artifact from the pandemic era that is at times hilarious and poignant as characters realize what means most to them in life.

 

The Postscript Murders by Elly Griffiths

Murder leaps off the page when crime  novelists begin to turn up dead in this intricate new novel by internationally best-seltlng author Elly Griffiths, a literary mystery perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz and Agatha Christie.

 

Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir

As in The Martian, Weir makes science and problem solving not only cool but absolutely essential to survival. In Project Hail Mary, Weir delivers an electrifying space adventure sure to wrench your gut and pull at your heart strings.